This recipe was very labor intensive. Especially the icing. I wanted to make strawberry cupcakes for the baby shower because they’re pink. Also, I love strawberries. A lot of recipes for strawberry cake use jello, but this one uses actual strawberries. They don’t actually come out pink, but I added some food color because I wanted them to be pink. I hadn’t ever really made a swiss meringue icing before, but it seems to be really light and fluffy. I plan on icing them in the morning before I take them in, because the icing seems like it’s not very stable. According to the recipe, these don’t have a very long shelf life.

Post cupcake edit: These were awesome. Everyone really loved them. Especially the icing. You can really taste the strawberries, which was nice.

Source: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2012/07/04/strawberry-cupcakes-with-strawberry-meringue-buttercream/

